County drinking water records
Jefferson County, NY drinking water systems
42 community water systems serve Jefferson County, NY, reporting 108,495 people served in all.
12 of them (29%) had at least one health-based violation in the last 10 years. 2 systems still have one unresolved.
20 rely mainly on groundwater and 22 on surface water, counting water bought from other systems.
Their lead service line inventories list 6 lead lines, 409 galvanized lines that must be replaced and 3,911 lines of unknown material.
15 more systems are placed in Jefferson County, NY by the county their records name because they have no service area map that lines up with their own records, so they are listed apart and not counted here.
- Community water systems
- 42
- People served, sum of each system's own figure
- 108,495
- Systems with a health-based violation, last 10 years
- 12
- Systems with one unresolved
- 2
- Lead service lines in inventories
- 6
Water systems serving Jefferson County
42 systemsPeople served is each system's own figure for its whole service area. Violation counts cover the last 10 years of EPA records.
| System | Serves | People served | Main source | Health-based violations, 10 years | Unresolved | Lead lines |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fort Drum | Fort Drum | 34,000 | Purchased surface water | 2 | 0 | 0 |
| Watertown City | Watertown | 27,861 | Surface water | 13 | 0 | 6 |
| Leray Town WD 1, 2, 4 | Calcium | 7,140 | Groundwater | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Carthage Village | Carthage | 3,600 | Surface water | 6 | 0 | 0 |
| Cape Vincent Town WD 1 & 5 | Outside cities and towns | 2,600 | Purchased surface water | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Sackets Harbor Village | Sackets Harbor and land outside it | 2,200 | Surface water | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Clayton Village | Clayton | 2,100 | Surface water | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Adams Village | Adams and Adams Center | 2,000 | Groundwater | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Alexandria Bay Village | Alexandria Bay | 1,900 | Surface water | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Philadelphia Village | Philadelphia | 1,800 | Groundwater under direct influence | 1 | 1 | 0 |
| West Carthage Village | West Carthage | 1,734 | Purchased surface water | 7 | 0 | 0 |
| Black River Village | Black River and land outside it | 1,600 | Groundwater | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Cape Vincent Village | Cape Vincent | 1,500 | Surface water | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Ellisburg WD 1, 2 & 3 | Belleville | 1,500 | Groundwater | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Rutland Town WD 1 | Felts Mills and land outside it | 1,500 | Purchased groundwater | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Brownville Village | Brownville and land outside it | 1,200 | Groundwater | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Dexter Village | Dexter and land outside it | 1,100 | Groundwater | 7 | 0 | 0 |
| Adams T WD 1,2,3 (Adams Center) | Adams Center | 1,000 | Purchased groundwater | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Theresa Village | Theresa and land outside it | 950 | Purchased groundwater | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Antwerp Village | Antwerp | 900 | Groundwater | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Cape Vincent Town WD 3, 4, & 6 | Cape Vincent | 770 | Purchased surface water | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Watertown Town WD 3 & 4 & 5 | Outside cities and towns | 750 | Purchased surface water | 8 | 0 | 0 |
| Orleans Town WD 1 (Lafargeville) | Fishers Landing | 750 | Groundwater | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Orleans Town WD 2 (RT 12) | La Fargeville and land outside it | 690 | Purchased surface water | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Champion WD 2, 4 & 5 | Great Bend | 650 | Groundwater | 3 | 0 | 0 |
| Evans Mills Village | Evans Mills | 644 | Groundwater | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Chaumont Village | Chaumont | 625 | Purchased surface water | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Watertown Town WD 1 & 2 | Outside cities and towns | 600 | Purchased surface water | 2 | 0 | 0 |
| Wellesley Island Water Corp. | Outside cities and towns | 548 | Surface water | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| Northland Estates | Outside cities and towns | 540 | Groundwater | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Glen Park Village | Glen Park and land outside it | 500 | Purchased groundwater | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Alexandria Town WD #2 - Redwood | Redwood | 500 | Purchased surface water | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Mannsville Village | Mannsville | 450 | Groundwater under direct influence | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Deferiet Village | Great Bend and Deferiet | 420 | Groundwater | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Champion WD 1 (Great Bend) | West Carthage | 400 | Purchased groundwater | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Northwoods Estates | Outside cities and towns | 315 | Groundwater | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Indian River Estates, Ltd. | Outside cities and towns | 303 | Groundwater | 0 | 1 | 0 |
| Hounsfield WD 3 (Wescott Beach) | Outside cities and towns | 270 | Purchased surface water | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Southside Water Inc. | Calcium | 195 | Purchased surface water | 3 | 0 | 0 |
| Rodman Town WD 1 | Rodman | 180 | Groundwater | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Pamelia Town WD #2 | Pamelia Center | 150 | Purchased surface water | 12 | 0 | 0 |
| Alexandria Town WD #1 - Otter Street | Alexandria Bay and land outside it | 60 | Purchased surface water | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Systems placed by county record in Jefferson County
15 systemsEPA has no service area map for these systems. They are placed by the county their records name (the counties EPA lists them serving, or the county coded in their IDs where EPA lists none), and without a map they are not counted in the figures above.
| System | Serves | People served | Main source | Health-based violations, 10 years | Unresolved | Lead lines |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pamelia Town WD 4 & 5 | County on record | 1,857 | Purchased surface water | 20 | 0 | 0 |
| Hounsfield WD 2 | County on record | 725 | Purchased surface water | 3 | 0 | 0 |
| Henderson Town WD 1,2 | County on record | 700 | Surface water | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Brownville (T) WD #1 | County on record | 600 | Purchased surface water | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Hounsfield WD 1, 5 | County on record | 480 | Purchased surface water | 7 | 0 | 0 |
| Leray Town WD 3 | County on record | 480 | Purchased groundwater | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Lyme Town WD 2 | County on record | 400 | Purchased surface water | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Wilna T WD 1 | County on record | 240 | Purchased surface water | 15 | 0 | 0 |
| Wilna T WD 2 | County on record | 200 | Groundwater | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Brownville (T) WD #2 | County on record | 140 | Purchased groundwater | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Cold Creek Studios | County on record | 90 | Groundwater | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| Lyme Town WD 1 & 4 | County on record | 70 | Purchased surface water | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Riverwood Estates | County on record | 30 | Groundwater | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Danc (Watertown / Ft. Drum) | County on record | Not reported | Purchased surface water | 3 | 0 | No inventory |
| Danc Western Regional | County on record | Not reported | Purchased surface water | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Cities and towns in Jefferson County
30 places- Adams1 system
- Adams Center2 systems
- Alexandria Bay1 system
- Antwerp1 system
- Belleville1 system
- Black River
- Brownville
- Calcium2 systems
- Cape Vincent2 systems
- Carthage1 system
- Chaumont1 system
- Clayton1 system
- Deferiet
- Dexter1 system
- Evans Mills1 system
- Felts Mills1 system
- Fishers Landing1 system
- Fort Drum1 system
- Glen Park
- Great Bend2 systems
- La Fargeville1 system
- Mannsville1 system
- Pamelia Center1 system
- Philadelphia1 system
- Redwood1 system
- Rodman1 system
- Sackets Harbor1 system
- Theresa1 system
- Watertown1 system
- West Carthage2 systems
Counties come from the counties EPA lists each system serving, matched to 2024 Census counties; where EPA lists none, from the county coded in the system's ID, its service area map, or its mailing address. A county holding at least a fifth of a system's service area map is added when at least a fifth of that map lies in those counties. Towns are the ones EPA lists and the Census places such a map covers, always inside those counties. In New England, where EPA's town names a whole Town, it is not matched to the village of the same name. A system is not listed in a county holding less than a fifth of its map, or in a county or town its map reaches when the map lies mostly outside the counties EPA lists, so a page can leave out a system that serves part of the area. Methodology and limitations