Public water system record

Town of Carthage

Serves Carthage, Moore County, NC · 4,255 people served

Federal records show 8 health-based violations and 13 monitoring/reporting issues for Town of Carthage in the last ten years. The most serious issue in this window was a resolved Haloacetic Acids (HAA5) violation.

  • NC0363025
  • City not reported
  • 4,255 served

System profile

Source water Surface water
ZIP Not reported
EPA system ID NC0363025

Verify this system on EPA ECHO →

Health-based violations, last 10 years
8
Resolved
8
Unresolved
0
Any acute record
No
Monitoring issues, last 10 years
13

Key facts

  • Town of Carthage draws water from 1 surface water intake.
  • Highest measured level in the last 10 years: Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs), 0.224 mg/L, federal limit 0.08 mg/L (2.8 times the limit), 2016.
  • Most recent formal enforcement: compliance order (no penalty) by North Carolina, June 2024.
  • Record on file since 1981, with 61 health-based violations before October 19, 2016.
  • Lead pipe inventory: 0 lead and 5 unknown out of 1,720 service lines.

Check whether Town of Carthage serves your address

Address suggestions by Mapbox

Health-based violations

Since October 2016

Violation data reflects EPA records through March 2026. For the most current status, visit the EPA ECHO database.

Contaminant Rule family Start date Status Acute
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.078 mg/L, federal limit 0.06 mg/L (1.3 times the limit)
220 Jul 1, 2017 Resolved No
Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.092 mg/L, federal limit 0.08 mg/L (1.2 times the limit)
220 Jul 1, 2017 Resolved No
Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.169 mg/L, federal limit 0.08 mg/L (2.1 times the limit)
220 Apr 1, 2017 Resolved No
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.076 mg/L, federal limit 0.06 mg/L (1.3 times the limit)
220 Apr 1, 2017 Resolved No
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.077 mg/L, federal limit 0.06 mg/L (1.3 times the limit)
220 Jan 1, 2017 Resolved No
Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.201 mg/L, federal limit 0.08 mg/L (2.5 times the limit)
220 Jan 1, 2017 Resolved No
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.104 mg/L, federal limit 0.06 mg/L (1.7 times the limit)
220 Oct 1, 2016 Resolved No
Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.224 mg/L, federal limit 0.08 mg/L (2.8 times the limit)
220 Oct 1, 2016 Resolved No

Monitoring and reporting issues

Since October 2016

Missed tests or reports, not contaminants found above a limit.

Issue Start date Status
Interim Enhanced Surface Water Treatment Rule
Monitoring and reporting
May 1, 2024 Resolved
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Monitoring and reporting
Jan 1, 2023 Resolved
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Monitoring and reporting
Jul 1, 2019 Resolved
Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs)
Monitoring and reporting
Jul 1, 2019 Resolved
Lead and Copper Rule
Monitoring and reporting
Oct 1, 2018 Resolved
Public Notice
OTHER
Nov 26, 2017 Resolved
Public Notice
OTHER
Nov 26, 2017 Resolved
Public Notice
OTHER
Aug 17, 2017 Resolved
Public Notice
OTHER
Aug 17, 2017 Resolved
Public Notice
OTHER
May 21, 2017 Resolved
Public Notice
OTHER
May 21, 2017 Resolved
Public Notice
OTHER
Nov 21, 2016 Resolved
Public Notice
OTHER
Nov 20, 2016 Resolved

Full record since 1981

EPA's records for Town of Carthage go back to 1981. Before October 19, 2016 they list 61 health-based violations (61 resolved) and 98 monitoring or reporting violations.

Violations that began in Health-based Monitoring and reporting
1980s 0 32
1990s 1 22
2000s 21 27
2010 to October 18, 2016 39 17
October 19, 2016 to 2019 6 11
2020s 0 2

Most recent health-based violation before October 19, 2016: Haloacetic Acids (HAA5), began October 2016, Resolved.

Show all 61 health-based violations before October 19, 2016
Contaminant Start date Status
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.104 mg/L, federal limit 0.06 mg/L (1.7 times the limit)
Oct 1, 2016 Resolved
Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.224 mg/L, federal limit 0.08 mg/L (2.8 times the limit)
Oct 1, 2016 Resolved
Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.218 mg/L, federal limit 0.08 mg/L (2.7 times the limit)
Jul 1, 2016 Resolved
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.103 mg/L, federal limit 0.06 mg/L (1.7 times the limit)
Jul 1, 2016 Resolved
Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.17 mg/L, federal limit 0.08 mg/L (2.1 times the limit)
Apr 1, 2016 Resolved
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.097 mg/L, federal limit 0.06 mg/L (1.6 times the limit)
Apr 1, 2016 Resolved
Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.131 mg/L, federal limit 0.08 mg/L (1.6 times the limit)
Jan 1, 2016 Resolved
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.149 mg/L, federal limit 0.06 mg/L (2.5 times the limit)
Jan 1, 2016 Resolved
Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.105 mg/L, federal limit 0.08 mg/L (1.3 times the limit)
Oct 1, 2015 Resolved
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.082 mg/L, federal limit 0.06 mg/L (1.4 times the limit)
Oct 1, 2015 Resolved
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.092 mg/L, federal limit 0.06 mg/L (1.5 times the limit)
Jul 1, 2015 Resolved
Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.084 mg/L, federal limit 0.08 mg/L (1.1 times the limit)
Apr 1, 2015 Resolved
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.108 mg/L, federal limit 0.06 mg/L (1.8 times the limit)
Apr 1, 2015 Resolved
Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.101 mg/L, federal limit 0.08 mg/L (1.3 times the limit)
Jan 1, 2015 Resolved
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.125 mg/L, federal limit 0.06 mg/L (2.1 times the limit)
Jan 1, 2015 Resolved
Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.107 mg/L, federal limit 0.08 mg/L (1.3 times the limit)
Oct 1, 2014 Resolved
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.136 mg/L, federal limit 0.06 mg/L (2.3 times the limit)
Oct 1, 2014 Resolved
Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.112 mg/L, federal limit 0.08 mg/L (1.4 times the limit)
Jul 1, 2014 Resolved
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.161 mg/L, federal limit 0.06 mg/L (2.7 times the limit)
Jul 1, 2014 Resolved
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.156 mg/L, federal limit 0.06 mg/L (2.6 times the limit)
Apr 1, 2014 Resolved
Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.126 mg/L, federal limit 0.08 mg/L (1.6 times the limit)
Apr 1, 2014 Resolved
Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.095 mg/L, federal limit 0.08 mg/L (1.2 times the limit)
Jan 1, 2014 Resolved
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.161 mg/L, federal limit 0.06 mg/L (2.7 times the limit)
Jan 1, 2014 Resolved
Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.094 mg/L, federal limit 0.08 mg/L (1.2 times the limit)
Oct 1, 2013 Resolved
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.156 mg/L, federal limit 0.06 mg/L (2.6 times the limit)
Oct 1, 2013 Resolved
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.156 mg/L, federal limit 0.06 mg/L (2.6 times the limit)
Jul 1, 2013 Resolved
Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.104 mg/L, federal limit 0.08 mg/L (1.3 times the limit)
Jul 1, 2013 Resolved
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.105 mg/L, federal limit 0.06 mg/L (1.8 times the limit)
Apr 1, 2013 Resolved
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.087 mg/L, federal limit 0.06 mg/L (1.5 times the limit)
Jan 1, 2013 Resolved
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.081 mg/L, federal limit 0.06 mg/L (1.4 times the limit)
Oct 1, 2012 Resolved
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.064 mg/L, federal limit 0.06 mg/L (1.1 times the limit)
Jul 1, 2012 Resolved
Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.105 mg/L, federal limit 0.08 mg/L (1.3 times the limit)
Apr 1, 2011 Resolved
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.091 mg/L, federal limit 0.06 mg/L (1.5 times the limit)
Apr 1, 2011 Resolved
Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.097 mg/L, federal limit 0.08 mg/L (1.2 times the limit)
Jan 1, 2011 Resolved
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.085 mg/L, federal limit 0.06 mg/L (1.4 times the limit)
Jan 1, 2011 Resolved
Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.086 mg/L, federal limit 0.08 mg/L (1.1 times the limit)
Oct 1, 2010 Resolved
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.08 mg/L, federal limit 0.06 mg/L (1.3 times the limit)
Oct 1, 2010 Resolved
Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.085 mg/L, federal limit 0.08 mg/L (1.1 times the limit)
Jul 1, 2010 Resolved
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.081 mg/L, federal limit 0.06 mg/L (1.4 times the limit)
Jul 1, 2010 Resolved
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.061 mg/L, federal limit 0.06 mg/L (at or just above the limit)
Oct 1, 2009 Resolved
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.105 mg/L, federal limit 0.06 mg/L (1.8 times the limit)
Jul 1, 2008 Resolved
Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.11 mg/L, federal limit 0.08 mg/L (1.4 times the limit)
Jul 1, 2008 Resolved
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.119 mg/L, federal limit 0.06 mg/L (2 times the limit)
Apr 1, 2008 Resolved
Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.133 mg/L, federal limit 0.08 mg/L (1.7 times the limit)
Apr 1, 2008 Resolved
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.136 mg/L, federal limit 0.06 mg/L (2.3 times the limit)
Jan 1, 2008 Resolved
Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.164 mg/L, federal limit 0.08 mg/L (2.1 times the limit)
Jan 1, 2008 Resolved
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.15 mg/L, federal limit 0.06 mg/L (2.5 times the limit)
Oct 1, 2007 Resolved
Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.166 mg/L, federal limit 0.08 mg/L (2.1 times the limit)
Oct 1, 2007 Resolved
Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.109 mg/L, federal limit 0.08 mg/L (1.4 times the limit)
Jul 1, 2007 Resolved
Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Contaminant limit exceeded
Measured 0.106 mg/L, federal limit 0.06 mg/L (1.8 times the limit)
Jul 1, 2007 Resolved

11 older violations are not listed here. EPA ECHO has the complete list.

Enforcement actions

North Carolina regulators took 19 formal enforcement actions against Town of Carthage between 2005 and 2024, filed as 22 records in EPA's data. The most recent was a compliance order (no penalty) in June 2024.

Date By Action Violations covered
Jun 19, 2024 North Carolina Compliance order (no penalty) 1 violation: Interim Enhanced Surface Water Treatment Rule
Apr 13, 2023 North Carolina Compliance order (no penalty) 1 violation: Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Oct 16, 2019 North Carolina Compliance order (no penalty) 2 violations: Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs), Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Mar 12, 2019 North Carolina Compliance order (no penalty) 1 violation: Lead and Copper Rule
Aug 22, 2016 North Carolina Compliance order (no penalty) 1 violation: Revised Total Coliform Rule
Jul 15, 2016 North Carolina Compliance order (no penalty) 1 violation: Revised Total Coliform Rule
Mar 13, 2015 North Carolina Compliance order with a penalty 2 violations: Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs), Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Jun 13, 2014 North Carolina Compliance order (no penalty) 2 violations: Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs), Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Jan 17, 2014 North Carolina Compliance order (no penalty) 17 violations (17 health-based): Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs)
Jun 13, 2012 North Carolina Compliance order with a penalty 1 violation: Hexachlorocyclopentadiene
May 16, 2012 North Carolina Compliance order (no penalty) 1 violation: Hexachlorocyclopentadiene
Apr 4, 2012 North Carolina Compliance order (no penalty) 2 violations: Public Notice
Mar 15, 2012 North Carolina Compliance order (no penalty) 3 violations: Public Notice
Jan 21, 2011 North Carolina Compliance order (no penalty) 6 violations (6 health-based): Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs), Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Jan 7, 2011 North Carolina Compliance order (no penalty) 1 violation: Public Notice
Mar 3, 2010 North Carolina Compliance order (no penalty) 25 violations (25 health-based): Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Mar 6, 2008 North Carolina Compliance order (no penalty) 5 violations (5 health-based): Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs)
Feb 16, 2007 North Carolina Compliance order (no penalty) 8 violations (8 health-based): Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)
Dec 22, 2005 North Carolina Compliance order (no penalty) 3 violations (3 health-based): Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs)

What the violations mean

Haloacetic Acids (HAA5)

4 incidents

Haloacetic acid byproducts exceeded the federal limit

Long-term exposure to HAAs may increase cancer risk

Total Trihalomethanes (TTHMs)

4 incidents

Disinfection byproduct levels exceeded the federal limit

Long-term TTHM exposure may increase bladder cancer risk

Where the water comes from

Town of Carthage draws water from 1 surface water intake. It also has an emergency connection to Town of Southern Pines. 1 other public water system has an emergency connection to Town of Carthage.

Emergency or part-time connections to

Annual water quality report

Town of Carthage must give its customers an annual water quality report (Consumer Confidence Report) by July 1, with the levels its tests found in the previous year.

Where the state allows it, systems serving fewer than 10,000 people may publish the report in a local newspaper or news site instead of mailing it, and must provide a copy on request.

Find a posted report with EPA's Consumer Confidence Report search

Testing your own water

To test the water at your tap, or a private well this record does not cover, use a laboratory certified for drinking water by North Carolina.